top of page
  • Writer's pictureJon Mullett

Rules for a Flush in Cribbage?

Updated: 2 days ago

The game's unique scoring system and strategic elements make it a beloved pastime for many. So what are the rules for a flush in cribbage?

Cribbage player points for four card flush in same suit
4 Point Flush in Cribbage

Sometimes it's not clear to players, especially newcomers, if same-suit cards (a flush) scores points. A flush is a hand scoring combination where all four cards in a player's hand are the same suit.


The answer YES, but it depends the situation. Are the in a player's hand or are they in the crib.


Points for a Flush in a Player Hand

A flush of all four cards in a player's hand scores 1 point for each card in the flush. In addition, if the flip card is the same suit as the four cards in the players hand that scores 1 additional point (5 Points). Regardless of the flip card, getting all four card of the same suit in a player's hand does score 4 points.

  • A 4-card flush (excluding the starter card) is worth 4 points.

  • A 5-card flush (including the starter card) is worth 5 points.

However, in order to score points all 4 cards must be in the player's hand. The player does not get points for 3 cards of the same suite in their hand even if the flip card is the same suit as those 3 cards.

Points for 5 card flush in cribbage
5 Point Flush in Cribbage

Points for a Flush in a Player Crib

In the crib, all five cards must be the same suit.


A flush only counts if all 5 cards are the same suit (including the flip card). If the crib has 4 cards of the same suit in the hand, but the flip card is a different suit, no points are awarded.


Jon Mullett

Cribbage King









Recent Posts

See All

تعليقات

تم التقييم بـ ٠ من أصل 5 نجوم.
لا توجد تقييمات حتى الآن

إضافة تقييم
bottom of page